“The End of Something” by Ernest Hemingway

During this past week, I’ve read Hemingway’s short story “The End of Something”. This short story reminds me the descriptive wording and the visual imagery of the setting it gave me like in “The Old Man and the Sea”. However, something that left myself questions wondering what made Nick and Marjorie break up.  ‘He was afraid to look at Marjorie. Then he looked at her. She sat there with her back toward him. He looked at her back. “It isn’t fun anymore. Not any of it.”‘ This short story not only left me wondering what could possibly happen next, but in the beginning of this story they both worked together while they were fishing for the trout by the resort. “Then Marjorie rowed the boat out over the channel-bank, holding the line in her teeth, and looking toward Nick, who stood on the shore holding the rod and letting the line run out from the reel. “

One thought on ““The End of Something” by Ernest Hemingway

  1. I was also confused as to what the point of the breakup was. Marjorie definitely wasn’t prepared for it and there wasn’t much point to it. Another thing that left me wondering was why did they go to the old abandon mill? I know they wanted to fish but why did they choose to go there? Both of these short stories left me with unanswered questions.

    Like

Leave a comment