Don’t Give Up on Hope

Have you ever wondered if you could do more for someone that can’t do much because their fighting an incurable illness, thinking things will get better for them? Yes. Have you wished that they try to keep fighting whatever they are battling with? Yes. About a year ago, I found out that my grandpa has prostate cancer stage 4. I was scared because the knew I heard the word “cancer”. This type of cancer is horrible because it affects a person very quickly. My family and I have been spending time with him from the past few months. Everyday, I always keep thinking and hoping he will get better. My grandpa is not only a wonderful man, but he is my hero. He teaches me something new when I spend time with him. He is my inspiration for me going into the navy too. I hope he will continue to fight enough to watch me walk across the stage when I graduate. He and I share so much together. The best thing I share with him is my birthday because I was born on his birthday. Even though I see him struggle with his prostate cancer, that doesn’t mean that I give up on hope. No, I think will beat this cancer. “My father’s death from prostate cancer in 1993 was tragic. He never complained about pain. He was a fighter. By the time he was ready to die he wasn’t able to die in the way that he wanted to, which seemed an outrage to me. ” -Zoe Wanamaker

Leave a comment